Honey Mumford

Homey Mumford title

Honey Mumford Model


Honey and Mumford’s Learning Stages and Styles

The Honey Mumford Model is based on the Kolb , but with a few differences.  It is basically the same as Kolb’s model, with just a few differences.

First, Peter Honey and Alan Mumford adapted David Kolb’s model to use in business.

Therefore, the stages in the cycle were renamed to accord with managerial experiences as they deal with problems and decision-making.


Learning Cycle

The typical depiction of these stages and styles would be respectively clockwise from 12 on a four-stage cyclical flow diagram.

The Honey & Mumford stages are:

Stage 1: having an experience

Stage 2: reviewing the experience

Stage 3: concluding from the experience

Stage 4: planning the next steps

Honey Mumford process

Stage 1 – Having an Experience: this is the “here and now” stage. This involves seeking challenges and immediate experience, and being open-minded.


Stage 2 – Reviewing the Experience: this is the “stand back” stage. This involves gathering data, pondering, and analyzing.


Stage 3 – Concluding from the Experience: This is the “thinking things through” stage. This involves thinking in logical steps, assimilating facts into coherent theories, and being rationally objective.


Stage 4 – Planning the next steps: This is the “trying out new ideas” stage. This stage involves trying out new ideas, problem solving, and decision-making.


Honey Mumfors Model


Four Resultant learning-styles

The four resultant learning-style types from the model are Activists, Reflectors, Theorists, and Pragmatists.

Style Preference


Activists want to learn by diving straight in to new experiences, and do not particularly like theory


Reflectors like to stand back and gather information before coming to a conclusion


Theorists want to fully understand the theory behind a subject before they feel comfortable with it


Pragmatists want to see the practical use of what they’re learning, and want practical techniques




Additional Learning Styles

4MAT Learning Style Model

Gregorc mind styles model

Kolb Learning Style Model

VAK Learning Preference

Honey Mumford Learning Style

Felder-Silverman Learning Style

Herrmann’s Brain Dominance HBDI

Left-brain and Right-brain Preferences

Myers-Briggs Type Indicator MBTI


Print Friendly, PDF & Email